Post a Comment Print Share on Facebook
Featured Christmas Diet Fat Muscle Markle

The discoverers of the 'internal clock' of the body, Nobel Medicine 2017

The winners are Jeffrey C. Hall, Michael Rosbash and Michael W. Young

- 89 reads.

The discoverers of the 'internal clock' of the body, Nobel Medicine 2017

Scientists Jeffrey C. Hall, Michael Rosbash and Michael W. Young have today won 2017 Nobel Prize for Medicine "for ir discoveries of molecular mechanisms that control circadian rhythm," biological phenomena that occur rhythmically around same time of day, like dream. Their findings, according to jury, explain how plants, animals and people synchronize ir biological rhythms with turns of planet Earth.

  • The body's recycling system wins Nobel Prize for Medicine
  • Bob Dylan can already collect 819,000 euros of Nobel

Hall (New York, 1945), Rosbash (Kansas City, 1944) and Young (Miami, 1949) used fruit flies to isolate a gene that controls normal biological rhythm. Their research showed that this gene encodes a protein that accumulates in cells at night and degrades during day, according to a statement from Nobel Prize. Later, y identified more components of this internal clock, which also works on cells of or multicellular organisms, such as humans.

The Nobel laureate of Karolinska Institute in Stockholm this morning revealed names of winners of an award that honored Yoshinori Ohsumi last year. The Japanese was awarded for discovering mechanisms of autophagy, basic process of degradation and recycling of cellular components and of great importance in many physiological phenomena.

The election process is same in all categories: scientists, academics and university professors submit nominations and various Nobel committees set up various screens to choose winner or winners, up to three per prize. The prizes can be deserted, something that has already happened 49 times. Since 1974, y can not be granted posthumously, unless winner dies in period between award and delivery.

This year prize money increases by more than 12%, after remaining unchanged since 2012. The winners in each of six categories will receive 9 million Swedish crowns (943,784 euros), to be distributed in case re is more than an award-winning.


You have to login for comment. If you are not a member? Register now.

Login Sign Up