Post a Comment Print Share on Facebook
Featured Diet Vegetables Safety Free Health

The 2017 Nobel Prize in Medicine, live

The Nobel laureate of the Karolinska Institute of Stockholm reveals Monday the name of the winner from 11.30

- 99 reads.

The 2017 Nobel Prize in Medicine, live

This Monday, October 2 from 11.30 is announced in Stockholm Nobel winner of Medicine or Physiology 2017, a coverage that can be followed live through EL COUNTRY. This award premieres week of traditional prizes for intellectual or humanistic excellence that are distributed annually in six categories: Medicine, Physics, Chemistry, Economics, Peace and Literature.

  • The body's recycling system wins Nobel Prize for Medicine
  • Bob Dylan can already collect 819,000 euros of Nobel

Among candidates for this year's Nobel laureate is Spanish researcher and professor at University of Alicante (UA) Francis Mojica. The Spanish microbiologist, born in Elche in 1963, has dedicated his life to CRISPR-Cas9, a technology of genetic engineering that takes advantage of a natural process of bacterial immune system and that has revolutionized medicine. For a decade he was, in fact, only researcher to do so. The pools put him in prize with researchers Jennifer Doudna and Emmanuel Charpentier.

The Nobel laureate of Karolinska Institute in Stockholm will reveal name of winner or winners of an award that honored Yoshinori Ohsumi last year. The Japanese was awarded for discovering mechanisms of autophagy, basic process of degradation and recycling of cellular components and of great importance in many physiological phenomena.

The election process is same in all categories: scientists, academics and university professors submit nominations and various Nobel committees set up various screens to choose winner or winners, up to three per prize. The prizes can be deserted, something that has already happened 49 times. Since 1974, y can not be granted posthumously, unless winner dies in period between award and delivery.

This year prize money increases by more than 12%, after remaining unchanged since 2012. The winners in each of six categories will receive 9 million Swedish crowns (943,784 euros), to be distributed in case re is more than an award-winning.


You have to login for comment. If you are not a member? Register now.

Login Sign Up